Basic (09-08)

DI 52115.001 Federal Workers’ Compensation (WC) Payments

The Department of Labor (DOL) is responsible for workers’ compensation (WC) for federal employees and other individuals covered by the various federal WC laws. The DOL’s Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs (OWCP) administers three of the major Federal WC programs. Payments made under these plans may be WC for offset purposes.

A. Longshore and Harbor Workers' Compensation Act (LHWCA)

The OWCP Division of Longshore and Harbor Workers' Compensation Program (DLHWC) administers the LHWCA. The LHWCA covers longshore and harbor workers throughout the United States. Federal employees are not eligible to receive harbor workers’ compensation. To process LHWCA cases, see DI 52115.005.

B. Federal Employees' Compensation Act (FECA)

The OWCP Division of Federal Employees' Compensation (DFEC) administers the FECA WC program. FECA pays WC benefits to civilian officers and employees of the U.S. government as well as others deemed to be federal employees for purposes of workers compensation. To process FECA cases, see DI 52115.010.

C. Federal Mine Safety and Health Act (FMSHA)

The OWCP Division of Coal Mine Workers' Compensation (DCMWC) administers the Black Lung Benefits Program under FMSHA. DOL pays Part B Black Lung benefits and oversees the Part C Black Lung program. See DI 52115.015 Federal Mine Safety and Health Act.

D. Other federal WC acts

There are other Federal WC programs that the DOL administers. These are primarily extensions of the LHWCA. See DI 52115.025 – Other Federal Workers’ Compensation (WC) Programs.

To Link to this section - Use this URL:
DI 52115.001 - Federal Workers’ Compensation (WC) Payments - 09/25/2008
Batch run: 02/19/2014