DI 81010.055 Saving Data and Exiting Electronic Disability Collect System (EDCS) Cases
Navigating from one EDCS screen to another always saves what is on the current screen. Selecting “cancel” on a screen causes you to lose any changes made to that screen. To ensure that no data is lost, EDCS must be exited properly.
NOTE: If EDCS has “timed out” while in the process of completing a page, the data entered will be lost. See Time Out Due to Lack of Activity - DI 81010.015 for more information.
The two ways to properly exit EDCS are (from the toolbar at the top of the EDCS screen) to:
Close the case, which saves all data and returns you to the SSN search screen. Choose this option if you want to continue working in EDCS.
Exit the case, which saves all data and exits EDCS. Choose this option if you no longer want to continue working in EDCS.