SI CHI00830.175 Assistance Based on Need – General Assistance and General Relief – Not Paid to Refugees (RTN 392 -- 07/2006)

See SI 00830.175

This supplement does not include general assistance or general relief payments to refugees. See SI 00830.645 for treatment of these payments.

A. Determination of Assistance Based on Need

  1. The instructions in this supplement specifically address general assistance and general relief, which are particular types of assistance based on need. Other types of assistance based on need may also be provided by your state or political subdivision. Those that are not covered here must be developed and documented in accordance with SI 00830.175

  2. All general assistance and general relief payments (whether in cash or in-kind) in all states in Region V are provided under public programs which use income and resources in determining eligibility for and the amount of assistance.

  3. None of these payments are “federally funded” as defined in SI 00830.175. Funding for the payments varies from state to state and, at times, within the state or county itself. The payments may be financed through state, county, or local funds, or federal revenue sharing funds. However, they are all public finds; none of them are paid from private or federal funds (as defined in SI 00830.175). Because they meet the requirements in SI 00830.175, general assistance and general relief payments (whether in cash or in-kind) paid within this region are assistance based on need, and are, therefore, excluded as income.

B. Description of General Assistance and General Relief Programs by State

The following sections briefly describe the assistance based on need paid by the state or political subdivisions in the region.

1. Illinois

In Chicago and in local political subdivisions that receive State funds to supplement local funds, General Assistance is composed of the Family and Children Assistance (FCA) Program and the Transitional Assistance (TA) Program. The Illinois Department of Human Services administers the FCA and TA Program in Chicago, and supervises the programs in the local political subdivisions receiving State funds.

Local political subdivisions that are not under State supervision fund a General Assistance program entirely through local revenues. They do not have FCA or TA Programs. In all programs, no federal funds are involved. Eligibility and payment amounts are based on both income and resources.

2. Indiana

The township trustee provides assistance with the basic necessities of life to include food, clothing, shelter, utilities, burial expenses, household goods, etc., in the form of vouchers. No cash payments are made. Eligibility is determined by income, other resources and residence. The majority of the assistance is funded by township property taxes.

3. Michigan

State Disability Assistance payments are generally cash payments financed by State funds but may include vendor payments for housing and/or energy costs. No federal funds are involved. The Department of Human Services determines eligibility and payment based on disability, income, and resources.

4. Minnesota

The General Assistance program and the Minnesota Supplemental Aid program are financed through State funds and administered through the local county welfare departments. No federal funds are involved. Eligibility and payment amount are determined based on both income and resources.

5. Ohio

Disability Financial Assistance (DFA) is a program that provides financial assistance to individuals who are eligible for public assistance programs that are supported in whole or in part by federal funds (e.g., TANF, SSI). DFA is a State and county funded program. No federal funds are involved and there are no federal regulations governing the administration of these programs. An individual’s income and resources must be considered in determining the need and the amount of the DFA grant.

6. Wisconsin

In Wisconsin, general assistance or general relief is administered by the counties. For program years beginning in 1996, the counties claim reimbursement from the State at 40 percent for non-medical benefits and claim