SI DAL01415.001 State Supplementary Programs

See SI 01415.001

A. Policy

Public Law 94-585 enacted in October 1976 required that, beginning July 1977, States supplementing the Federal Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefit must pass along any cost-of-living adjustment (COLA) increase in SSI payments. (See SI 01403.001.) The States could:

  • Pass along the entire COLA increase on a case-by-case basis (i.e., maintain the State supplement amount for each recipient), or

  • Maintain the total State supplement expenditures in the current period as in the immediately preceding 12-month period.

In the Dallas Region, Arkansas and Louisiana have federally administered mandatory minimum State supplementary programs. Both States have consistently elected to pass along the COLA increase on a case-by-case basis.

B. Procedures

The amount of the pass-along is determined by the:

  • Living arrangement, and

  • Eligibility status on the SSI record (i.e., individual, member of a couple) of the converted recipient in the effective month of the pass-along.

See SI DAL02005.082 for special instructions when a change in the record composition causes a change in the minimum income level (MIL).

Exhibit 1 is a chart listing the amount of pass-along for each eligibility status and living arrangement since July 1977.

NOTE: Prior to P.L. 94-585, Arkansas authorized an increase in the MIL effective July 1974. The increase was $6.00 for an eligible individual (including an individual with an EP) and $4.50 for each member of an eligible couple.

Exhibit 1

Passalong Amounts for State Converted Recipients in Arkansas and Louisiana Entitled to Mandatory Minimum State Supplementary (MMSS) Payments

Record Comp. & LA

07/77

07/78

07/79

07/80

07/81

Individual

- LA-A, C

-LA-B

10.00

6.67

11.60

7.73

18.80

12.53

29.80

19.87

26.70

17.80

Individual with EP

- LA-A, C

-LA-B


15.00

10.00


17.40

11.60


28.20

18.80


44.80

29.87


40.10

26.73

Couple (both with MMSS)

- LA-A *

- LA-B *


14.90

9.95


17.40

11.60


28.20

18.80


44.70

29.80


40.00

26.67

Member of Couple

(1 member with MMSS)

- LA-A

- LA-B



7.45

4.97



8.70

5.80



14.10

9.40



22.35

14.90



20.00

13.34

Member of Couple with EP

(1 member with MMSS)

- LA-A

- LA-B




9.95

6.64




11.60

7.73




18.80

12.54




29.85

19.90




26.70

17.80

* ½ of the amount for each member of the couple.   Arkansas & Louisiana Only

Record Comp. & LA

07/82

07/783

01/84

01/85

01/86

Individual

- LA-A, C

-LA-B

19.60

13.07

9.70

6.46

9.70

6.47

11.00

7.33

11.00

7.33

Individual with EP

- LA-A, C

-LA-B

29.50

19.67

14.20

9.46

14.20

9.46

17.00

11.34

16.00

10.66

Couple (both with MMSS)

- LA-A *

- LA-B *


29.40

19.60


14.60

9.72


15.60

10.40


16.00

10.67


16.00

10.66

Member of Couple

(1 member with MMSS)

- LA-A

- LA-B


14.70

9.80


7.30

4.86


7.80

5.20


8.00

5.34


8.00

5.33

Member of Couple with EP

(1 member with MMSS)

- LA-A

- LA-B



19.65

13.10



9.55

6.36



10.05

6.70



11.00

7.34



10.50

7.00

* ½ of the amount for each member of the couple.   Arkansas & Louisiana Only

Record Comp. & LA

01/87

01/88

01/89

01/90

01/91

Individual

- LA-A, C

-LA-B

4.00

2.67

14.00

9.33

14.00

9.34

18.00

12.00

21.00

14.00

Individual with EP

- LA-A, C

-LA-B

6.00

4.01

21.00

14.00

21.00

14.00

27.00

18.00

32.00

21.34

Couple (both with MMSS)

- LA-A *

- LA-B *


6.00

4.00


22.00

14.68


21.00

14.00


26.00

17.32


31.00

20.68

Member of Couple

(1 member with MMSS)

- LA-A

- LA-B


3.00

2.00


11.00

7.34


10.50

7.00


13.00

8.66

15.50

10.34

Member of Couple with EP

(1 member with MMSS)

- LA-A

- LA-B



4.00

2.67



14.50

9.67



14.00

9.33



17.50

11.67



21.00

14.00

* ½ of the amount for each member of the couple.   Arkansas & Louisiana Only

Record Comp. & LA

01/92

01/93

01/94

01/95

01/96

Individual

- LA-A, C

-LA-B

15.00

10.00

12.00

8.00

12.00

8.00

12.00

8.00

 

Individual with EP

- LA-A, C

-LA-B


22.00

14.66


18.00

12.00


18.00

12.00


18.00

12.00

 

Couple (both with MMSS)

- LA-A *

- LA-B *


23.00

15.32


19.00

12.68


17.00

11.32


18.00

12.00

 

Member of Couple

(1 member with MMSS)

- LA-A

- LA-B


11.50

7.66


9.50

6.34


8.50

5.66


9.00

6.00

 

Member of Couple with EP

(1 member with MMSS)

- LA-A

- LA-B



15.00

10.00



12.50

8.33



11.50

7.67



12.00

8.00

 

* ½ of the amount for each member of the couple.   Arkansas & Louisiana Only


To Link to this section - Use this URL:
http://policy.ssa.gov/poms.nsf/lnx/0501415001DAL
SI DAL01415.001 - State Supplementary Programs - 10/31/2014
Batch run: 10/31/2014
Rev: