PROGRAM OPERATIONS MANUAL SYSTEMPart DI – Disability InsuranceChapter 521 – Workers' Compensation/Public Disability Benefit (WC/PDB) OffsetSubchapter 20 – State Specific Workers' Compensation (WC) ProceduresTransmittal No. 29, 12/20/2018
This is a Quick Action Transmittal. The revision does not change or introduce new policy or procedure. This is a minor update to NC WC POMS to include a reminder to check the available online resources for WC payment information in DI
Summary of Changes
DI 52120.180 North Carolina Workers’ Compensation (WC)
Added third paragraph in Subsection A.
North Carolina WC pays 2/3 of the worker’s average weekly wage up to a State determined maximum. To see the weekly maximum visit: http://www.ic.nc.gov/ncic/pages/maxrates.htm
The individual will receive the payments for the duration of the disability except for Permanent Partial (PP) Disabilities, which have a limit of 300 weeks.
To verify WC payments, check that WC evidence is not already in file. Check the Workers' Compensation (WC) Resource Page in DI 52140.020 since NC is a State that provides SSA with access to its online records. The value of online records can vary from State to State and some development may still be required. However, the sites available usually provide contact information for the employer, WC carrier or the WC attorney, which can jump-start the development process. Also included in the WC resource intranet site is a list of individuals in the PC with online access to those individual State records.
Individuals must appeal North Carolina LS Awards based on the facts of the award within 15 days and appeal based on the laws within 30 days. The North Carolina Commission can review the WC award for up to 2 years from the last WC payment, but only on the grounds of a change in condition.
Use general procedures for life expectancy cases to prorate and offset.
DI 52150.065A Life Expectancy (LE) Award
NOTE: North Carolina occupational disease lump sum awards for byssinosis often specify a very low weekly rate to be paid over a life expectancy up to age 75 or 76.
North Carolina does not provide a cost of living increase.
Attorney fees in North Carolina are determined on a case by case basis and approved by the North Carolina Industrial Commission.
North Carolina WC does not offset due to the receipt of RIB.
http://www.ic.nc.gov/ - North Carolina Workers' Compensation site
DI 52150.045 - For individual State maximum rates visit
DI 52150.060 - Prorating a WC/PDB Lump Sum Settlement
DI 52150.030 - Considering the RIB Option
DI 52150.050 - Excludable Expenses