TN 5 (02-24)

RM 10250.001 Self Check Background

A. Self Check defined

Self Check is a Department of Homeland Security (DHS) web-based application that enables individuals – citizens and non-citizens - age 18 and older to confirm their work authorization prior to employment. This free service instructs the Self Check user to enter personal information (e.g., name and date of birth) online and then Self Check compares the information to Social Security Administration (SSA) and DHS databases to determine if the user is authorized to work in the United States.

Self Check provides the user with an immediate response of either:

  • “Work Authorization Confirmed,”

  • “Possible Mismatch with Social Security Information,” or

  • “Possible Mismatch with Immigration Information.”

If there is a mismatch, Self Check provides instructions for resolving the discrepancy and a printable notice identifying the type of information that did not match. If the mismatch is with SSA data, Self Check instructs the user to visit SSA to resolve the discrepancy. For a listing of the possible reasons for an SSA mismatch, see RM 10250.005B.2.

Self Check is a subsystem of E-Verify and DHS owns and administers both programs. For information comparing Self Check to E-Verify, see RM 10250.010.

B. Legislative history for Self Check

DHS created Self Check in response to the Conference Report (House Conference Report 111-298) associated with the Department of Homeland Security Appropriations Act of 2010. Congress provided funds specifically for the development of a “self check” tool that allows workers to validate their employment eligibility status outside of the employer-focused E-Verify process and to check the accuracy of their records with federal agencies such as SSA and DHS.

C. Self Check implementation

Effective February 9, 2012, residents in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands can access Self Check through the Self Check website at

DHS began rolling out the Self Check service in March 2011 to five states and the District of Columbia. In August 2011, DHS added 16 more states. The final release on February 9, 2012 includes the 29 remaining states, Guam, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

To Link to this section - Use this URL:
RM 10250.001 - Self Check Background - 02/16/2024
Batch run: 02/16/2024