TN 89 (04-24)

GN 00308.061 New Mexico Vital Records

A. Process

Marriage records are kept by the County Clerk in county where marriage license was issued. Divorce records are kept by the District Court Clerk in District where divorce granted.

B. Procedure - State Sources

1. FO Code


FO Code 860

You can find the most up-to-date address and vital record information from New Mexico Bureau of Vital Records. In addition, you can find EIN information here .

2. Cost of Copy:

Birth $10.00, Death $5.00, Marriage/divorce varies with County Clerk and/ or District Court.

3. Type of Payment:

Money order preferred, no cash.

4. Remarks:

For birth records, use EVVE (GN 00302.980). If not successful, the FO should write directly to the State to obtain birth records. Make birth record requests using SSA-L706.

Requests for death records should be on SSA letterhead and must include name of decedent, date of birth, and date of death. If exact date of death is unknown, provide a span of years to be searched.

If SSA is paying for the record (i.e., requirements for SSA purchase in GN 00301.210 are met or verification required by enumeration policy), include a third party draft payable to “New Mexico Vital Records.”

The parallel FO cannot follow up on any requests.

Can FO verify, certify, or obtain free copy of birth/death record? No

C. List of Counties

A directory of New Mexico County vital records office contacts is available here.


To Link to this section - Use this URL:
GN 00308.061 - New Mexico Vital Records - 04/24/2024
Batch run: 04/24/2024